Technological Leadership Continues to Differentiate Endicott Interconnect

ENDICOTT, NY — Endicott Interconnect Technologies, Inc. recently celebrated the issuance of its 27th U.S. Patent since becoming an independent company just four years ago. EI, which ranks 13th among the top U.S. PCB companies in revenues (Printed Circuit Design & Manufacture, September, 2006), is led by only three of those companies in PCB related issued patents. The firm’s impressive patent portfolio covers innovative substrate designs and manufacturing processes and is strong evidence of EI’s technical expertise in this very competitive area. Already, EI owns more issued U.S. Patents relating to PCB’s than many of its main competitors.

EI’s expertise in electronic packaging substrates stems from the know-how of innovative technologists. The company’s heritage has provided a long history of technological advancements that continues today with EI’s top 11 patent holders accounting for over 700 patents combined. They include; Voya Markovich (171), Kostas Papathomas (154), John Lauffer (83), Robert Japp (59), Frank Egitto (55), Luis Matienzo (49), James Wilson (40), Thomas Miller (33), Benson Chan (32), John Kresge (32) and Mark Poliks (32).

“EI is committed to developing new processes, technologies and techniques that enable progress in the electronics industry. This technical leadership has been accomplished through the creativity and invention of our talented personnel,” commented James J. McNamara, President and CEO at EI. “This innovation is a key to EI’s success in the advanced packaging arena and clearly differentiates us from our competitors,” he continued.

Technical leadership is further exemplified by EI technologists through collaboration with universities, consortia and leadership roles within industry organizations. How Lin serves as an Adjunct Professor at Binghamton University and Jeff Knight is the Advanced Packaging Committee Chair for the Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC).

Voya Markovich is Chair of the Interconnect Section for the Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC), President of the International Microelectronics and Packaging Society (IMAPS) New Jersey Chapter, and a member of the industrial and executive boards for the Integrated Electronics Engineering Center (IEEC), the Center for Advanced Microelectronics Manufacturing (CAMM) and the Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science at Binghamton University.

Mark Poliks is the Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC) Materials/Processing Section Co-Chair, a Research Professor at Binghamton University, Northeast Regional Program Chair for the American Chemical Society, Advisory Board Member of the Integrated Electronics Engineering Center (IEEC) and Technical Director of the Center for Advanced Microelectronics Manufacturing (CAMM).

Additionally, EI technologists including Benson Chan, Frank Egitto, Mark Poliks, Roy Magnuson, Mike Rowlands, Luis Matienzo, How Lin and Vara Calmidi recently taught a course in Flexible Electronics at Cornell University.